The first years and the first results
Palazzo Busca-Arconati-Visconti is purchased in 1869 and the Collegio is founded.
A “special” alumnus graduates in 1874-75: Achille Ratti, who later became Pope Pious XI.
In 1886, Don Bosco visits the Collegio. A woman introduces her deaf daughter to him, and after the Saint speaks to her, she is healed.
The First World War and support for the country
Under the guidance of Mons. Ceresani, the Collegio becomes a military hospital, treating the wounded of the First World War.
The Second World War and support for the neediest
The Collegio becomes the clandestine headquarters of OSCAR, an organization that protects and helps Jews wanted by the regime to leave the country
From the post-war years to the 1970s: a time of renewal and recognition
In 1965, the President of the Republic awards the Gold Medal to the school.
From 1955 to 1970, the Collegio goes through an important renovation, in both didactics and spaces, thanks to two Deans: Antonio Fustella and Mario Alberti.
The old interior structure is closed, in favor of one more in step with the times.
Century’s end and the drive towards modernity
The Collegio begins to admit girls in 1985.
The new San Carlo Sports Center is inaugurated in 1995. In the same year, the Collegio receives the Gold Medal for Civic Merit from the City of Milan.
Another Gold Medal is awarded by the Milan Chamber of Commerce in 1999.
Consolidation and expansion mark the 2000s
The Collegio Chapel, which features six stained glass windows realized by Don Domenico Sguaitamatti, is inaugurated in 2003.
Work on the library, which dates back to the sixteenth century and boasts many important volumes as well as the latest technology, is completed in 2009.
The Collegio continues to inaugurate new and innovative spaces: teaching laboratories (2017), areas dedicated to didactics and meetings (2017) and multipurpose and artistic spaces, like the DAMA (2019).